RESOLUTION NO. 2016 - 40

BOARD OF COUNTY RESOLUTION OF THE A COMMISSIONERS OF COLLIER COUNTY. FLORIDA RESOLUTION NO. 2016-31 WHICH AMENDING ESTABLISHED A LOCAL RULE REVIEW COMMITTEE FOR MANATEE PROTECTION SPEED ZONES, IN ORDER TO INCLUDE NON-VOTING MUNICIPAL MEMBERS

WHEREAS, the creation of speed zones to regulate vessels in Collier County for manatee protection is important in protecting the endangered Florida manatee; and

WHEREAS, the Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission (FWC) is the primary agency responsible for creation of manatee protection speed zones in Collier County; and

WHEREAS, the FWC notified Collier County of its intention to consider new or amended manatee protection rules in Collier County; and

WHEREAS, pursuant to Florida Statute 379.2431(2)(f), proposed rules of the FWC Commission shall be submitted to the counties in which the proposed rules will take effect for review by local rule review committees; and

WHEREAS, pursuant to Florida Statute 379.2431(2)(f)8, the local rule review committee shall have 60 days from receipt of the proposed rule to submit a written report to FWC Commission members and staff; and

WHEREAS, it is in the public interest and benefit to create such a committee; and

WHEREAS, on February 9, 2016, the Board of County Commissioners (Board)

approved Resolution No. 2016-31, which established said committee; and

WHEREAS, the Board desires to amend Resolution No. 2016-31 to include non-voting members on the committee to be appointed by the municipalities.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS OF COLLIER COUNTY, FLORIDA that Section I of Resolution No. 2016-31 is hereby amended as follows:

[16-CZM-00195/1238662/1] 38

SECTION I. COMPOSITION AND TERMS OF OFFICE

A. APPOINTMENT

The Local Rule Review Committee shall consist of ten (10) <u>voting members and four (4)</u> <u>non-voting members</u>. As set forth in F.S. 379.2431(2)(f)3, the Committee shall consist of an identical number of waterway users, and manatee and other environmental advocates.

Each County Commissioner shall nominate two (2) members to the Committee, one representing waterway user viewpoint and one representing an environmental advocate viewpoint. <u>Collier County, the City of Naples, the City of Marco Island, and Everglades City, shall each nominate one (1) non-voting member to the committee.</u> Members shall serve without compensation.

* * * * * * * * * * *

This Resolution shall become effective upon its adoption by the Board of County Commissioners of Collier County.

THIS RESOLUTION ADOPTED after motion, second and majority vote this <u>23rd</u> day of <u>February</u>, 2016.

ATTEST: DWIGHT E. BROCK, CLERK

ARCEPTER IS ICINALISTICS SIGNATURE ONLY.

Approved as to form and legality:

AFRE

Heidi Ashton-Cicko Managing Assistant County Attorney

BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS COLLIER COUNTY, FLORIDA

DONNA FIALA, Chairman