
Guidelines for Real Property Levy: 

1. Writ of Execution (Original/Certified Copy issued by Clerk) 

2. Instructions for Levy 

A. Legal description of real property, plus physical address 

3. Cost Deposit – Check made payable to the Collier County Sheriff’s Office  

A. Short legal $2,000.00 

B. Medium to long legal $3,000.00 and up 

4. Checks made payable to the Clerk of Court 

A. $11.00 (record Notice of Sheriff’s Levy with clerk) 

B. $10.00 (release Notice of Sheriff’s Levy with clerk) 

              **Note, there is an additional $1.00 recording fee, per name, for documents containing more 

than 4 names** 

                  Disclaimer: The Sheriff’s Office CANNOT GIVE ANY LEGAL ADVICE. THIS INFORMATION IS 

NOT TO BE CONSIDERED LEGAL ADVICE. YOU MUST CONTACT AN ATTORNEY FOR ANY LEGAL ADVICE 

YOU NEED IN THE PREPARATION OF DOCUMENTS FOR SHERIFF’S LEVY. 

 

5. Creditor’s Affidavit 

Affidavit with Attestation by the Levying Creditor, or the Attorney of Record for Levying 

Creditor, is REQUIRED. Outline of ALL ELEMENTS required by STATUTES, and the Sheriff, to be 

contained in the AFFIDAVIT pursuant to FLORIDA STATUTES 56.27 (4)(a)(b)(c) 

 

That I, as Attorney of Record for Levying Creditor, or as the Levying Creditor, have herein set 

forth all of the following as to the Judgment Debtor: 

 

(a) That in accordance with Florida Statutes 55.10(1) and (2), I have reviewed the Official 

Records of the ___________ County Clerk of Court, Recording Department, or, I have 

performed or reviewed a title search on the real property described in the Sheriff’s 

Instructions for Levy, and that all the information contained in this Affidavit including a 

disclosure of all judgment liens, mortgages, financing statements, tax warrants, and other 

liens against the described real property, based on my review or title search is true and 

correct. 

(b) That I have provided to the Sheriff for each judgment lien found recorded in their order of 

Priority on the real property, the information contained in the certified copy of recordation 

of lien under Florida Statutes 55.10(1) and (2), and for each other lien found recorded on 

the real property, the name and address of the lienholder(s), as shown in the copy of the 

recorded lien(s) disclosed by the title search. You must include the following information if 

any liens are found in the records of the Clerk of Courts recording department OR the 

State’s database for JLC’s (Judgment Lien Certificate): Court of Issuance, case number, case 

style, judgment date, amount of judgment, interest rate, date the certified copy was 



recorded, the name and address of the party filing the lien and, if the review or title search 

of the court records revealed no other liens found recorded except yours, have made a 

statement to this effect. **Remember that your judgment lien must also be listed. List all 

required information in the Affidavit**  

(c) That I either do or do not have any other levy in process or, if another levy is in process, I 

believe in good faith that the total value of the property under execution does not exceed 

the amount of outstanding judgments. 

‐ That I understand it is the responsibility of the Sheriff to furnish certified mailing of NOTICE to all 

judgment creditors and other lienholders who have acquired a lien as provided in Florida 

Statutes 55.10(1) and (2) , or Florida Statutes 695.01, and I have provided to the Sheriff, said 

names and addresses required by F.S. 56.21: *Attorney of Record of Judgment Debtor, and if 

debtor has no attorney, I have made a statement to this effect; *Judgment Debtor, last known 

address; *Attorney of Record of all Judgment Creditors and other lienholders, as listed in the 

judgment lien, or other recorded liens, or in any amendment thereto; *All Judgment Creditors 

and Other Lienholders who do not have an attorney of record, as listed in the judgment lien or 

other recorded liens, or in any amendment thereto; *Property Owner of Record, and Each 

other person holding a Mortgage or Other Lien against the real property as disclosed by this 

Affidavit. 

 

‐ That, on levy of Real Property, Mobile, or Modular Home or any other residence, I have made an 

inquiry of the Public Records of the Clerk of the Circuit Court of __________County, Florida, and 

found no claim filed by the named Judgment Debtor exempting the described real property 

from forced sale pursuant to F.S. 222.01. 

 

‐ That I understand unless a directed Court Order to the Sheriff is received prior to the Sheriff’s 

Sale, all monies received through levy or sale will be paid as prescribed in F.S. 56.27(1); to the 

Sheriff for COSTS; the Levying Creditor in the amount of $500.00 as LIQUIDATED EXPENSES; and, 

the PRIORITY LIENHOLDER(s) under F.S. 55.10(1) and (2), as set forth in this Affidavit required by 

F.S 56.27(4) or his or her attorney, in satisfaction of the judgment lien(s), if the judgment lien(s) 

have not lapsed at time of levy. AND, that if the name of more than one attorney appears in the 

court file, I have provided to the Sheriff, the name and addresses of either attorney who 

originally commenced the action or who made the original defense, unless the file shows 

another attorney has been substituted. 

 

‐ That pursuant to F.S. 56.27 (2)(b), if the affidavit required by subsection (4) discloses that the 

property is also subject to any recorded mortgage, financing statement, tax warrant, or other 

lien, other than a judgment lien, which is junior in priority to the levying creditors judgment lien, 

any surplus from the sale of the property shall be paid over to the registry of the court from 

which the execution issued for further proceeding to determine the priority in which such 

surplus shall be distributed among judgment lienholders, other lienholders, and the owner of 

the property sold. 

 



‐ That I further understand, pursuant to F.S. 56.27(5), a Sheriff paying money received under an 

Execution in accordance with the information contained in the Affidavit under F.S. 56.27 (4) is 

not liable to anyone for damages arising from a wrongful levy.          

 

**NOTE: Affidavit will NOT be accepted by the Sheriff unless signed by the Attorney of Record 

for Levying Creditor (Plaintiff), or the Levying Creditor (Plaintiff). The levying creditor or 

Attorney for levying creditor SHALL deliver this affidavit to the Sheriff at the time of the levy 

request.**            

 

 


