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Helpful Phone Numbers 
 

Code Enforcement 239-252-2440 

Business Center  239-252-2400 

Contractor Licensing 239-252-2909   

Helpful Websites 

www.colliergov.net/code  
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To request a Code lien search go to: 

  www.colliergov.net/code 

 Click on Lien Search/Payoff 

Request or call (239) 252-2440 

 Lien Search Fee is $25.00 per 

property address. 

 

Protect your investment! 

 Order a Code property 

inspection  

 Order a Code lien search  

These two actions can save 

you thousands of dollars 

Thinking of Buying a 

Home or Investment 

Property? 

Know What You are  

Buying 
 

In the State of Florida there are thou-

sands of homes being bought and sold 

every year. 

 

How does a prospective buyer know if the 

home or property they are buying meets 

Collier County’s current Florida Building 

Codes and zoning regulations, or if it has 

existing Code violations, fines, or liens?   

 

Once purchased, the new property  owner 

is held responsible for correcting all code 

violations, paying fines owed, and liens 

even though it occurred before they pur-

chased the property.  

 

The cost to the new homeowner can be 

thousands of dollars. The best solution is 

to work with your Real Estate professional 

and request a Code property inspection 

and Code Lien search before closing.   

mailto:liensearches@colliergov.net
mailto:liensearches@colliergov.net
mailto:liensearches@colliergov.net
mailto:liensearches@colliergov.net
mailto:liensearches@colliergov.net
mailto:liensearches@colliergov.net
mailto:liensearches@colliergov.net


Property Inspection for 

Code Violations 
 

Code property inspections look for un-

permitted improvements, non-conforming 

structures, open permits and verify zon-

ing requirements. The inspections can 

be performed by a Florida licensed con-

tractor, home inspector, or Code Investi-

gator for either the property owner or 

prospective buyer. The cost for Code 

property inspections conducted by the 

Code Enforcement Department is 

$200.00. 

The Seller 

A property owner considering selling his/

her property may arrange for a Code  

property inspection to determine whether 

Code violations exist in advance of mar-

keting the property for sale. This allows 

the seller time to correct any violations to 

avoid issues arising later with potential 

buyers. 

  

 

 

 

The Buyer 

 

Upon considering purchase of a property, a 

buyer should always have a Code property 

inspection completed. Most sales contracts 

allow the buyer a contingency for property 

inspections. The buyer should assure that 

his/her inspector inspects for un-permitted 

improvements, non-conforming structures, 

zoning appropriate for the structure/

intended use, and open permits. All existing 

Code violations, fines, and liens go with the 

property and become the responsibility of 

the new owner when sold.  

 
 

 
 

 
 

 

                      

Code Property  

Inspections Review 
 

 The number of structures permitted 

on the property. 

 If there are any non-conforming struc-

tures or uses on the property. 

 Any open permits without final in-

spections. 

 Unpermitted additions that have been 

added to the residence. 

 

Code Searches 

Detailed information on the records of a 

property, such as, fines owed, liens, and 

unresolved code violation cases are re-

searched when requested. 

The property may have open Code En-

forcement cases with violations that 

were never corrected and are accumu-

lating daily fines. 

 

If a property has a lien, it may be diffi-

cult to sell, refinance, or borrow against 

it. Liens are recorded on the property 

and are the responsibility of the prop-

erty owner. 

 

 


