

Any required fire extinguishers or fire suppression equipment shall have an affixed service / inspection tag provided by a Florida licensed contractor as per the Florida Administrative Code 69A-21 and Florida Statute 633.071. The local Fire District shall be contacted a minimum of ten working days prior to any outdoor special event being held to coordinate code requirements and inspections.

## **TENT INSTALLATION NOTIFICATION**

Installation Date	N	lumber of tents	
	IN	Number of tents	
Dimension (each tent)			
Installation address			
Tent Company			
Address			
City	State		Zip
Phone			
Email Address			
Leased by			
Tent to be used for			

- 1. Fire reviews and inspections are based on the FL Fire Prevention Code, local policy, and amendments by the Fire District, adopted NFPA Standards, the FL Administrative Code, and FL Statutes.
- 2. Permits, when required, shall be charged the additional following fees Fire Department Inspection fee and Plan Review fee. Inspections of any tent less than 900 square feet shall be at the discretion of the local authority.
  - a. Fire Review: \$150.00 plus \$10.00 each tent
  - b. Fire Inspection: \$150.00 plus \$25.00 each tent
- 3. Collier County Planning and Regulation requires that a Special Events Permit be obtained for any tent erected in connection with a non-residential use. A separate fee is required from a Temporary Use Special Events Permit, from which non-profit organizations can receive up to two exemptions. This permit may be obtained at the Business Center located in the front lobby of the Growth Management Department, located at 2800 N. Horseshoe Drive. For questions, please call (239) 252-2400.

## 4. PERMITS AND INSPECTIONS ARE REQUIRED FOR THE FOLLOWING:

- a. All single tents in excess of **900** square feet.
- b. Multiple tents, 900 square feet or less, congregated together less than 10 feet between the tents. If utilizing stake lines on tents, the distance shall be 10' between stake lines for egress.
- c. Any tents that are to be used for assembly purposes (NFPA 101 Chapters 12 & 13, generally 50 or more people). Some examples are circuses, shows or performances, dancing, dining, meeting, or any other use in which 50 or more people will be grouped under the tent(s) described in item a. These tents shall also meet all the requirements for assembly occupancies and require Crowd Manager Training.

- d. All tents under which cooking occurs. (See item #12 below).
- e. Tents used in conjunction with flammables including but not limited to sparklers, fireworks, solvents, petroleum products, Christmas trees, etc.
- f. Tent stakes must be protected to prevent trip hazards.
- 5. A minimum of one 2A:10B:C extinguisher shall be provided for each tent, with a minimum travel distance of 75 feet. If cooking appliances with grease-laden vapors are present, a Class K extinguisher is required with a maximum travel distance of 30 feet. Additional extinguishers and fire protection may be required by the local Fire District having jurisdiction. All fire extinguishers and required fire suppression shall have an affixed service / inspection tag provided by a Florida licensed contractor as per the Florida Administrative Code 69A-21 and Florida Statute 633.071.
- 6. No driveway, fire lane, fire hydrant, or FDC, etc. shall be blocked by any tent/food truck/ride/vendor installation.
- 7. All tents shall be located at least ten (10) feet away from buildings, building overhangs, and other structures.
- 8. Smoking shall not be permitted in tents or membrane structures. Approved "No Smoking" signs shall be conspicuously posted. The Fire District may require additional precautions and separation distances to protect tents and membrane structures from smoking, open flames, and other sources of ignition, while such structures are open to the public. All tents that will be used after dark or have sides or walls require lighting and emergency lighting to be installed.
- 9. Exits and exit ways may not be blocked or obscured by fences, security devices, tables, chairs, decorations, etc.
- 10. A minimum width of three (3) feet is required for all exits and exit ways.
- 11. No open flames are permitted under any tent.
- 12. Food warming devices such as Sterno canisters shall be permitted when used with code approved holders/equipment.
- 13. Tents with missing or damaged proof of flame resistance certification, shall be permanently numbered. Replacement documentation shall be clearly marked with the same tent number. This documentation shall be on site and available for review.

I, have been informed of the code requirements for the use of the tent that I have rented; I fully understand what the requirements of use are. Should I have any questions concerning the use, or applicable fire codes I will contact my local fire department for assistance. I further acknowledge that the local fire department may at their discretion, conduct a fire inspection of the tent that I have rented and that I may be held liable for any fines or penalties that may be assessed due to any violations of code or ordinance.

Signature

Date